Women of Distinction Ceremony

Join us at the Women of Distinction Awards ceremony as these women share their advice, inspiration, and experience with the future leaders of tomorrow (that’s you, right?). After hearing their remarkable stories, you’ll have the opportunity to meet them, face-to-face, during the reception after the ceremony.

Who are the NCCWSL Women of Distinction?

For more than 30 years, NCCWSL has been awarding leaders in their fields, creators of unique programs and services, and lifelong advocates for critical issues. See the complete list of NCCWSL awardees since 1985.

Meet the 2016 Women of Distinction

Kimberly Bryant
Founder of Black Girls Code

Marisa Demeo
Associate Judge, Superior Court of the District of Columbia; Adjunct Professor of Law

Anu Duggal
Founding partner of Female Founders Fund (F Cubed)

Sarah McBride
Campaigns and Communications Manager for the LGBT Research and Communications Project, Center for American Progress

Kelly Tsai
Writer, Performer, Director, Producer

Read Kelly Tsai’s Full Speech

How can I get updates on the ceremony?

Follow NCCWSL on social media for the latest updates.

When does the 2017  ceremony take place?

The 2017 Women of Distinction ceremony will take place in the evening on Thursday, June 1.

How can I attend the ceremony?

Register for the conference.

Women of Distinction Award Criteria

The Women of Distinction Leadership Awards are presented annually by AAUW’s National Conference for College Women Student Leaders (NCCWSL) to women who

  • Exhibit leadership and pave the way for women in their fields of expertise
  • Serve as role models and/or mentors to women and girls
  • Demonstrate a commitment to AAUW’s mission of advancing equity for women and girls
  • Advocate for positive social change that helps close the gender leadership gap and creates a more equitable society
  • Demonstrate an understanding of systems of oppression and utilize an intersectional approach to advocating for positive social change. Give back to the community through their time, talent, and resources

Women of Distinction Selection Process

NCCWSL presents the Women of Distinction Leadership Awards to women who have made outstanding achievement in their fields. Awards are presented to women who represent diverse identities, ages, occupations, and passions. Awardee recipients are selected by the NCCWSL Steering Committee and AAUW national staff following a formal selection process.

Event History and Past Award Recipients

For more than 30 years, NCCWSL has awarded the Women of Distinction Award to groundbreaking women working across a range of fields, from science and engineering to art and government. See the complete list of remarkable NCCWSL Women of Distinction Awardees since 1985.