If you are having trouble viewing our site, or need any other assistance, please call 800-326-2289

Keynote and Featured Speakers

Keynote Speaker
Saturday, June 2, 9:30–10:45 a.m., Grand Ballroom, Stamp Student Union

Tarana Burke
social justice activist and founder of the Me Too Movement

Documentary and Discussion: Step
Wednesday, May 30, 7–9:30 p.m., Hoff Theater, Stamp Student Union

Chevonne Hall
Principle, Baltimore Leadership School for Young Women

Documentary and Discussion: Step
Wednesday, May 30, 7–9:30 p.m., Hoff Theater, Stamp Student Union

Paula Dofat
College Counselor, Baltimore Leadership School for Young Women

Opening Session
Thursday, May 31, 9–10:15 a.m., Grand Ballroom, Stamp Student Union

Marsha A. Guenzler-Stevens, Ph.D.
Director, Adele H. Stamp Student Union, University of Maryland, College Park

Women on the Global Stage: Featured Speaker
Friday, June 1, 9:30–10:30 a.m., Grand Ballroom, Stamp Student Union

Her Excellency Vlora Çitaku
Ambassador to the United States from the Republic of Kosovo

Women in Government: Featured Speaker
Saturday, June 2, noon–12:30 p.m., Grand Ballroom, Stamp Student Union

Madelyn Scales-Harris
Vice-Mayor of Murfreesboro, Tennessee

How can I get updates?

Connect with AAUW and NCCWSL on social media for the latest updates.



Who has headlined before?

Chelsea Clinton
Chelsea Clinton
Vice Chair of Clinton Foundation

Franchesca Ramsey
Vlogger, Comedian, Host of MTV’s Decoded, Writer/Contributor

Sarah McBride
LGBT Rights Activist and Political Figure

Melissa Harris-Perry
Political Commentator, Author, Professor, and AAUW Fellow

Women of Distinction

AAUW’s National Conference for College Women Student Leaders annual Women of Distinction Awards are presented to women who

  • Exhibit leadership and pave the way for women in their fields of expertise
  • Serve as role models and/or mentors to women and girls
  • Advocate positive social change that helps close the gender leadership gap and creates a more equitable society
  • Are committed to advancing all women regardless of background and work to amplify diverse voices
  • Give back to their field through their time, talent, and resources

When does the 2018 ceremony take place?

The 2018 ceremony will take place the evening of Friday, June 1, 2018. After hearing the remarkable stories of our awardees, attendees will have the opportunity to meet our Women of Distinction face-to-face during a dessert reception immediately following the ceremony.

Simone Askew

First black woman to serve as first captain at West Point

Education: Bachelor of Science, West Point, Class of 2019

Occupation: First Captain, West Point

Carrie Goldberg, Esq.

Attorney combatting online sexual harassment

Education: Vassar College; Juris Doctor, Brooklyn Law School

Occupation: Founder, C.A. Goldberg PLLC

Aisha Bowe

Entrepreneur and former aerospace engineer at NASA

Education: Bachelor of Science, Engineering, and M.Eng. in Space Systems Engineering, University of Michigan

Occupation: Co-founder and CEO, STEMBoard

Carmen Perez

Civil rights activist and nonprofit leader

Education: Bachelor of Arts, University of California, Santa Cruz

Occupation: Executive Director, The Gathering for Justice; co-founder, Justice League NYC and founder of Justice League CA; National Co-Chair of the 2017 Women’s March on Washington

See the complete list of remarkable NCCWSL Women of Distinction awardees since 1985.


Photography and Promotion

Photographers and videographers will be covering this event to promote future conferences and programs. If you do not wish to be photographed or videotaped, please let the photographers/videographers know. For more information on AAUW’s photo policy, email nccwsl@aauw.org.